roaming around the country with Paint!

I know I’ve been amiss and not keeping you all up to date with my Revealing Culture expeditions… well I’ve been trying to slow down with my roaming around the country running this and that workshop… it just keeps on going… ha… loving it!!!!!

Well I am settling into some serious painting in between running Life Drawing sessions in Manchester with Full Circle Arts and in Shrewsbury with DASh.

The Nude: Re:Dressed was a life drawing day exploring the notion and composition of a ‘Disabled Nude’. Is there such a thing as a disable nude or is there just a nude. Caroline Cardus was the life model and both sessions opened up a creative dialoge around disability cuture and the nude.

It seem that most life-drawers who attended the sessions felt that there was no difference in drawing a disabled nude or a non disabled nude but some people felt that it was good to draw as many different people as possible to get as wider view of the human form as possible.

These sessions have been open to all and so we have had a wide mix of disabled and non-disabled artists and drawers come together to share whats its like to see the naked and nude disabled model.  

I’ve really enjoyed these sessions as an artist making mixed-media drawings of my favourite subject The Nude alongside other like-minded people. Some comments from the drawer’s:
“This has been the best day i’ve had in ages”
“i’ve enjoyed using lots of different materials”

Baroness Jane Campbell had her portrait drawn in Tate Modern last month. Well that was a real treat! She was another great subject… and brought along her Royal Seal along with her hat that she wore at all her demonstations in the eighties. I learned that she married a guy who went to my school – Welburn Hall School, a special one of course…..but since has sadly died. But hey the world is such a small place.

Baroness Jane says:
“The intereactive portrait painting session was great fun. I thought I would be bored and fidgity, but because I could talk with the artist, as she worked (and with the observers who joined us in the afternoon), I felt engaged and entertained. The experience was quite surreal at times, but I guess that’s to be expected in the Tate Modern with Tanya Raabe at the easel. Her paintings certainly capture the more bizarre moments of my – and I suspect – other disabled people’s lives!”

I’ve just been to the Norwich Disability Pride Festival… what a fab doo it was…..a few of the old timers Johnny Crescendo, Caroline Parker mixed in with new blood, Vince Laws and local artists and myself of course along with the Whos Who collection.

Big thanks to Norfolk Coalition of Disabled People and Ann Young – my bezzi mate – for putting on a great show…. great to see so many disabled people having presence and buzzing around… fab well done guys.

So back to the painting. ‘R:Evolving’ a participatory piece is coming together and looking Fab. The work explores the physicality and identity of four disabled women. It engages their perspective on the female figure in contemporary disability culture and the mainstream.

And I’ve started paintings of Sophie Morgan, Garry Robson, Michele Taylor… so its all go here in my studio. I’ll be filming the paint process so look out for it on my 

And I’ve started paintings of Sophie Morgan, Garry Robson, Michele Taylor… so its all go here in my studio. I’ll be filming the paint process so look out for it on my youtube channel

Go to Tanya Raabe’s youtube channel to view a film of her painting

About Tanya Raabe

Tanya Raabe Visual Artist: an established Artist has recently toured Who’S WhO – portraits of established disabled artists nationally, including screening at National Portrait Gallery; exhibition tour, Light House, Wolverhampton; The Place, Telford; Oriel Wrexham, Shape, London. Recently as Artist Advisor to ACE and Cultural Olympiad on Artist taking the Lead commissioning panel. I'm Presently creating a new commision for Meadow Arts / National Trust Croft Castle, 'The Custodians'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

